Thank you for your interest in furthering your education at the University of Montana for summer 2021. Summer Exploration is a great way to get ahead on your academics while you are in high school, get a taste of college life, become exposed to transformational experiential learning opportunities outside of the classroom, and connect with peers in a shared, immersive, one-week experience on campus July 24 - July 31, 2021. 

Summer Exploration invites high school students (rising sophomores, juniors and seniors who are at least 16 years old) to UM for an intensive, one-week shared experience. The University of Montana has also partnered with the Wild Rockies Field Institute (WRFI) to host two tracks/groups. Both UM and WRFI students will spend the first weekend together as a group and then the UM group will stay on UM’s campus Monday-Friday and WRFI will go into the field. They will all rejoin on Friday. Students will engage in the classroom (indoor or outdoor) during the day and in meaningful social activities in the evenings and during the weekend. Students will be exposed to all aspects of life as a UM student. Out-of-state and in-state high school students can earn one college credits and have a choice between two different courses.

To learn more, please click below on the application below. Looking forward to seeing you on campus this summer!

The University of Montana Summer Office is looking for academically motivated high school students (who are entering their sophomore, junior and senior year starting the fall of 2021 and are at least 16 years old) to join us this summer for the Summer Exploration program, running from July 24 - July 31, 2021.

Applications must be submitted by April 30, 2021 to be considered for priority review and by May 15, 2021 to be considered for review. There is no fee to submit your application. If you have any questions, please contact 

Personal Statement
In 500 words or less, students need to describe their interest in participating in Summer Exploration. Please be specific in the relevant experiences you have had, what you are interested in learning, and why you would like to participate in this program. 

Unofficial High School Transcript
The application requires students' unofficial high school transcript. Be sure to have this document so that it will be ready for uploading. PDF or Word are acceptable formats.

Before beginning the application, please scroll down to review it to ensure that you have all of the other required information, including your high school counselor's information. You can save a draft of the application when you're working on it, but you will not be able to edit the application once you have submitted it. 

The University of Montana does not discriminate in admissions, or the provision of services, or employment policies on the basis of race, gender, national origin or ancestry, material status, creed, religion, color, political ideas, sexual preference, age, or physical or mental disability.


Please read and complete the form below. This form must be completed by the parent/legal guardian.